Bach Magnificat & Festive Cantatas


Bach Magnificat & Festive Cantatas

Alexander Weimann music director

Hear the original version of J.S. Bach’s Magnificat, written for Christmas Vespers in 1723. Alexander Weimann directs a festive baroque orchestra including three trumpets and timpani in music including Telemann’s concerto for three trumpets in D major and Bach’s beloved Cantata No. 140, “Wachet auf.”

  • J.S. Bach: Cantatas, including “Wachet auf,” BWV 140
  • J.S. Bach: Magnificat in E-flat major, BWV 243a
  • G. Ph. Telemann: Concerto in D major for three trumpets, TWV 54

A Northwest Baroque Masterworks Project

“an engaging blend of scholarship with honest sentiment plus all the bells and whistles that the early Baroque could muster in service of religious music. The result was nothing less than splendid, one of the best musical treats of the holiday season.” —The Vancouver Sun (December 23, 2015)